Celebrating ASEAN’s 55th Anniversary

International Business News  –   On August 8, 2022, the ASEAN Beijing Committee held a flag-raising ceremony for ASEAN Day 2022 at the Indonesian Embassy in China. Vice Foreign Minister Deng Li was invited to attend. Deng Li congratulated the ASEAN Beijing Committee on the 55th anniversary of the founding of ASEAN, and exchanged views with the envoys of ASEAN countries to China on China-ASEAN relations.

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations was established in Bangkok, Thailand on August 8, 1967, and its secretariat is located in Jakarta, the capital of Indonesia. ASEAN has 10 member countries: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Myanmar, Vietnam. The member states of the alliance have a total area of ​​about 4.49 million square kilometers and a population of 660 million.

On ASEAN’s founding day, holding the flag-raising ceremony of the ASEAN flag has become a routine activity of ASEAN countries, which reflects respect for the common values ​​of all countries and promotes the spirit of unity, friendship and cooperation of the ASEAN community. The ASEAN flag is a symbol of the unity and efforts of the member states on ASEAN principles, and a tool to strengthen the awareness and unity of the ASEAN community.